top of page

Second Cabinet list: New, Reshuffled & Retained

His Excellency President Julius Maada Bio on 15th July 2023, released a second list of his appointees into cabinet and other positions.

Among the list of new and reshuffled names, President Bio made an appointment of twenty six subtantive ministers and twenty one deputies, bringing the total to forty seven. Fourteen of these are women. Ten other appointments were also made.

The fifty seven person’s list has been simplified into new ministers, those who have been reshuffled and those retained.

The names and positions of new Ministers are Mr. Jiwor Abdulai as Minister of Environment and Climate Change, Major-General(RTD) David T.O Taluva as Internal Affairs Minister, Dr. Henry M. Kpaka as Agriculture and Food Security Minister, Mr. Chernor Bah Information & Civic Education Minister, Amb. Fanday Turay as Transport & Aviation Minister, Dr. Hannah Max Kyne as Water Resources and Sanitation Minister, Ms. Kenyeh Ballay Planning and Economic Development Minister, Dr. Isata Mahoi as Gender and Children’s Affairs, Dr. Denis Sandy as Works and Public Assets Minister, Mrs. Augusta James Teima as Sports Minister, Ms. Salamatu Bah as Communications, Technology & Innovation Minister and finally Gbassay Jusu Ngobeh as Resident Minister East Region.

Reshuffled: Mr. Mohamed Rahman Swaray is now placed at Employment, labor & Social Security ministry, Mr. Amara Kallon as Minister of Public Administration and Political Affairs, Mrs. Princess Dugbah is now a substantive Minister at Fisheries and Marine Resources, Madam Nabeela Tunis is now Minister of Tourism and Cultural Affairs, Mrs. Melrose Karminty is now placed as a substantive Minister at Social Welfare, Mr. Adekunle King is now placed as Minister of Western region and Amb. Umaru Bond Wurie as Minister of North-Western Region.

Retained: Health Minister Dr. Austin Demby, Mohamed Orman Bangura as Youth Affairs Minister, Alhaji Kanja Sesay as Energy Minister, Amb. Tamba Lamina as Local Government and Rural Development Minister, Dr. Turad Senesie as Lands,Housing & Country Planning Minister and Mr. Abu Abu Koroma as Minister of the North region.

Most Deputizing ministers are new appointees except for Defense, Public Administration, Energy, Health, Transport, Fisheries, Planning, Gender, Works and Comms,Tech & Innovation.

Most notable appointments in other positions are Hon. Alpha Kanu re-appointed as Presidential Spokesperson, Mr. Solomon Jamiru Esq. appointed as Press Secretary and Hon. Kandeh Yumkellah appointed as Chairman,Presidential Initiative for Climate Change, Renewable energy and Food Security.


bottom of page